Why Television Is Making You Poor

The average American works 1-2 jobs, 6-12 hours a day.

The average American then goes home and watches FIVE hours of television a day. Then goes to sleep.

“In the 1940’s General Eisenhower’s senior communications expert, Russian born David Sarnoff, helped create Television for America..He also created one of the largest broadcasting networks on the planet less than a decade later-NBC. By 1970 the American public averaged over 5 hours a day of television for every man woman and child-over 70% of the adult population watched the news every single night. Amidst an uncontrollably changing social and political landscape, such a powerful tool to direct the flow of information was necessary to shape the minds of generations to come.”

The average American makes $32,000 per year and spends $66/month or almost $800 a year on television entertainment. That’s without buying any DVDs or games.

Now, Americans that spend 5 hours a day watching television actually spend 1,825 hours a YEAR watching television.

The average American is also apx $15,000 in debt.

This post was written by your NOT SO AVERAGE American.

I am 26 years old, I have ZERO debt, and I have also NEVER EVER paid for cable or bothered with college. The addicted television enthusiasts are asking themselves now, “WHAT on Earth do you do with your time?!”

I.Make.Money. 24 hours a day.

I’m a stay at home, homeschooling mom of three (two +1 foster child), and I have two youtube channels, plus an ebay store. When I am not busy with mom duty, I’m busy fulfilling ebay orders and making videos for youtube. I actually generate quite a bit of money from youtube, more then from ebay, but I do put a LOT of TIME into it. In fact, the $84 a YEAR I spend on Hulu+ is covered by the first month of youtube earnings.

Did you know :

  • YouTube has more than 1 billion users
  • Every day people watch hundreds of millions of hours on YouTube and generate billions of views
  • The number of hours people are watching on YouTube each month is up 50% year over year
  • 300 hours of video are uploaded to YouTube every minute
  • ~60% of a creator’s views comes from outside their home country
  • YouTube is localized in 75 countries and available in 61 languages
  • Half of YouTube views are on mobile devices
  • Mobile revenue on YouTube is up over 100% y/y

I’m serious, if you aren’t cashing in on youtube monetization you are working hard for no reason. I used to be the average American, I used to work a 9-5, never see my kids, pay for daycare, and was generally depressed with my life because I was not living it fruitfully. No one wants to work to scrape by, to miss out on their kids lives. We live in an age where if you have basic people, and computer skills you really do NOT have to.

Have you ever wondered how there are so many stay at home single moms, making over $10,000 a month writing blogs? How there are so many millionaires yet still so many struggling Americans? What is it they know that you dont? Just the fact that the internet can be used to make you rich, instead of working for someone else your whole life to make someone else rich. With youtube, a person can retire in 5-10 years, can the average American worker say the same?

Did you know that the second richest person on youtube, behind Katy Perry was a woman who opens surprise eggs for kids? Her channel is worth 6-12 MILLION a year!

Stop watching OTHER people become successful and living glamorous lives on television while your bills and debts pile up. CUT YOUR CABLE CORD!!!!! All the time you spend wasting watching television is making you poor by default.

I am a big fan of Dr.Who, and my kids like TV, but I make sure that I lead by example in my home. I dont waste all my time watching TV, my kids see me work hard on my online duties, and I stay up late working on videos and packaging orders after I read to my kids. I want them to see how to work for success.

In 2012 I started making videos on youtube. I used my tax money to buy a new all in 1 desktop, a new printer, and a webcam. One of my subscribers actually donated money for me to buy a headset so they could hear me better. The first year I made $5,000 on youtube and my husband and I agreed I could stay home after my second child instead of returning to work. I actually had etsy at that time instead of ebay, and my first year on etsy I made $7,000. I invested about $500 in materials for etsy to start my business. I changed to ebay this year following a issue with etsy over a $700 purchase they wanted to screw me out of. So now I have ebay. And I love them. Even if I dont love their fees.

When I remember how much I used to spend to live my life while working, I am really shocked at how many people still do it.

Remember the average American makes $32,000 a year, minus their $800 a year in cable. Also subtract $5,000 in childcare, or thats what I spent annually. I know people who spend  LOTS more. Minus almost $10,000 in rent or your mortgage, minus $1,200 in electric bills/year, minus $600/year in internet costs (yours could be more), minus $1,200 in phone costs (yours could be more or less, mine is ZERO because I got a kindle fire HD and had a friend hack a phone app),  minus $3,200 in heating costs/year (for me about $800/tank @ 4 tanks/year), minus apx $7,200/yr in food costs or $600/month, you have $2,800 left over at the end of the year on “extras”. Don’t even get me started on car or health insurance we are mandated to have. Or gas costs to and from work, or lunch at work or amenities. You have $2,800 a year for that, which doesn’t really cover it does it? Americans are being worked into debt.

I’m mostly writing this for the poor American’s who are stuck in their lifestyle of debt right now. Trapped in front of the telly, and on their phones, watching other people on TV become successful; working themselves to death, making their seniors rich instead of themselves. And its sad so many Americans are so mesmerized by the TV  that Fukushima is melting down and irradiating and devastating our oceans, nuclear power is still considered just fine, the police are being militarized, killing innocent people, wars rage, genetically modified food poisons you, fluoride makes it hard for you to critically think which is why everything is this bad, our government is making terrorists of its own citizens, overstepping constitutional law, taxes and mandated healthcare are financially killing Americans as corporations make laws, pollute and frack the world to devastation. Corporations and banks get bailed out while over 8 million people have lost their homes since 2007 to bankruptcy.

But it’s okay, the television says so. . .

.

According to RT: “Analysts at Experian Marketing Services published a study this week indicating that customers with high-speed internet access who have either never subscribed to cable or stopped subscribing to cable has increased by 44 percent, from 5.1 million households to 7.6 million, in a mere three years. ”

Apparently people are realizing the television is a BUNCH of lies and distractions all rolled up into one.

So it’s tax time again: when you get your refund are you going to waste it on some junk for your house, or vacation, etc, or this year are your going to set yourself up to make yourself successful? My investments have more then paid off. I get to homeschool my kids and teach them latest in science that public common core couldn’t dream of teaching her. I get to be with my kids and take care of one who isnt even mine. I feel so lucky to live my life, even if motherly duties are overwhelming, and the laundry and dishes never end.

You can struggle forever, or take a chance. The decision is up to you.

If you are interested in blogging or making a YT channel, etsy, ebay or whatever, start right now reading blogs on how to make successful blogs, or videos or have a successful store. It helped me greatly. It is more productive for your to read about how to be successful and apply it to your life then it is to watch meaningless television. When you watch someone on youtube you are most likely making them money, unless its copywritten content. My first channel is a big mix of awesome documentaries I collected from the depths of youtube, which were okay to reupload, and also consists of videos and documentaries I made myself. My second channel is all “toy stories” with my kids toys and they help me write the stories and come up with sets, etc. Kids have a GIANT demographic on YT.  More kids have access to YT via phones, etc then most people would be willing to admit.

Everyone has a life story, and youtube is an awesome community to share yours, as well as receive comfort and criticism all in one place. And whether they liked your video or not, you are still getting paid. I have learned to talk openly about my sexual abuse as a teenager, something which previously gave me great shame because my whole school knew found out when I went to rehab. I dont feel that shame anymore. I dont want people to feel bad for me, I want teens and kids who are suffering to know they are not alone, can have a good life after, and learn to love and value themselves as I have.

As I said, we all have a story, or a talent. Whether you make music, do how to vids, hair & make up tutorials, game tutorials, documentaries, vlogs, unwrapping surprise eggs, or just are seeking advice, youtube and its community have your back.

This is the New Age, it’s time to start living in it 😉

I hope this inspires you to make a change in your life if you are the average struggling American.

Love & light,

Casondra Starseed

Leave a Reply

